In this video: Inspiring others through its intelligent programming and love of chamber music, Seraphim Trio never fails to delight. Its players, Helen Ayres (violin), Anna Goldsworthy (piano) and Tim Nankervis (cello), are steadfastly committed to building contemporary repertoire, developing audiences and teaching emerging performers.

At the heart of this concert is music by the father of Czech music, Bedřich Smetana. In his beloved trio, Smetana grieves the loss of a daughter but finds new life in the birth of a truly nationalist Czech style. Back in present-day Australia, be among the first to experience a brand-new trio by Richard Mills, generously commissioned by Dimity Reed especially for her husband’s 80th-birthday celebrations.


JOSEF SUK (1874-1935)
Elegie in D-flat, Op.23, ‘Under the Impression of Zeyer’s Vyšehrad’

RICHARD MILLS (b. 1949) 00:07:16
Portraits and Memories – world premiere
I Intrada
II Portrait One
III Memory One
IV Promenade One
V Portrait Two
VI Memory Two
VII Promenade Two
VIII Portrait Three
IX Memory Three and Postlude

BEDŘICH SMETANA (1824-1884) 00:27:29
Piano Trio in G minor, Op.15
I Moderato assai – Più animato
II Allegro, ma non agitato
III Finale: Presto

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *