In this video: Formed at the Australian National Academy of Music in 2014, Penny Quartet is rapidly gaining a reputation as a fresh, interpretative voice to chamber music giving high profile recitals, festival showcases and master classes across the country.

Penny Quartet’s ‘Blossom’ explores the intimacies of chamber music across three very personal works. Beginning with Elliott Carter’s poignant tribute to a departed friend in Fragments I & II, the program also showcases a world premiere performance Vignettes written by the Penny Quartet’s dear friend Joseph O’Connor. Concluding with Peteris Vasks’ achingly melancholic ode to nature, Sommersweisen.

About Penny Quartet: In their inaugural year, Penny Quartet were nominated for the Freedman Fellowship award, were the recipients of the John and Rosemary Macleod Travelling Fellowship and winners of the Australian National Academy of Music Chamber Music Competition. Since then, the Penny Quartet have been ensemble in residence at the Four Winds Festival, presented independent recital tours across Australia and made their international debut as full scholarship holders at the St. Lawrence String Quartet seminar at Stanford, CA. Penny Quartet regularly collaborate and record with various composers and musicians, both independently and as Festival artists. They have been part of the ‘Local Heroes’ subscription series at the Melbourne Recital Centre since late 2017 and are 2018 recipients of the Contemporary Masters Award. Penny Quartet are also 2019 Featured Artists with Musica Viva Australia’s regional touring program. With diverse individual backgrounds and experiences across the globe, the group brings together years of knowledge and training to create a mature quartet sound. The Penny Quartet’s repertoire is wide and varied; a love for the core quartet repertoire is intertwined with an urge to explore less charted territory.


Elliott Carter 0:25
Fragments I & II

Joseph O’Connor 12:31
I. “Waking Dream” (For Jack Ward)
II. “Choir Loft Maverick” (For Amy Brookman)
III. “Idle Talk” (For Madeleine Jevons)
IV. “Filigree” (For Anthony Chataway)

Peteris Vasks 31:40
String Quartet No.2, Sommerweisen
I. Coming into Bloom
II. Birds
III. Elegy

Teacher Resources: In an extended work for string quartet, we discover a quiet new sound-world, in which tone colour, dynamics, articulation and texture play important roles. Click here to download the Listen Up activities.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *